The company

Some of the UK’s leading experts on plastics, waste management and engineering processes make up the team that provides direction and delivery for the business.

Management Team and Board of Directors

  • Adrian Griffiths

    Managing Director

    Adrian has extensive commercial and technical experience in many manufacturing sectors.
    He is an engineering graduate from Imperial College and has many years of experience advising engineering enterprises to achieve greater business success.

  • Howard Lack

    Chairman of the Board

    Howard qualified as a barrister after an MA degree from Cambridge. He has held a number of Director level roles working on major international projects. More recently Howard has focused on funding for technology start-up companies and philanthropic endeavours, including as founder and CEO of the charity Plastics Oceans Foundation

  • Adrian (Rupert) Haworth

    Sales & Marketing Director

    Adrian spent 30 years at GE during which time he ran GE Energy in Russia and GE Energy's strategic marketing department in Europe. As Sales & Marketing Director he provides an invaluable insight into developing potential revenue streams and identifying new uses for Plaxx.

  • Mike Keast

    Technical Director

    Mike spent over 15 years at the leading design consultancy, AMEC Foster Wheeler. He has extensive experience of permitting issues and unsurpassed experience in bringing new technologies to market at the CPI and Stopford Energy.

  • Will Garrard

    Operations Director

    Will has a wealth of experience in manufacturing and operations particularly involving modular build businesses. Previous roles have included: Managing Manufacturing Director at The UNITE Group PLC as well as COO of Snoozebox Holdings PLC. Will provides the primary leadership role in the operation phase on the Beta plant and with recruiting the Scottish operations team.

  • Brian Cattmull

    Manufacturing Director

    Brian is an Industrial Engineer and holds a Master’s Degree in Manufacturing Systems Engineering. He has extensive experience implementing and operating lean manufacturing principles across a variety of senior roles at the Danaher Corporation.

  • Ravish Jain

    Commercial Director

    Ravish brings eight years of combined regulatory compliance and grant funding experience in the energy sector. and has been with the company since its early days. Before joining Recycling Technologies, he has worked for a large power and coal mining company in India. He has an MBA from Warwick Business School and a degree in Mining Engineering.

  • Geoffrey Philipps

    Investor Director

    Geoffrey is an engineer and Chartered Shipbroker with extensive experience at a senior level spread over 40 years in finance and commerce. He has held a number of board appointments both as executive and non-executive director including public companies.

  • Paul Hodges

    Non-Executive Director

    Paul worked in senior roles with IeC and has over thirty years’ experience in the petrochemicals sector, along with invaluable knowledge of global markets. These are key areas in Recycling Technologies' development strategy going forward.

  • Nicola Frayne

    Non-Exec Director

    Nicola brings a wealth of experience to the board, especially as an HR professional. Nicola previously served as Group HR Director of Unite Plc, a FTSE 250 company, where she was a member of the senior management team during a rapid expansion of the business.

  • Stephen Hodges

    Non-Exec Director

    Stephen has vast experience in the waste industry, which he served for 15 years at Viridor as Director of Engineering. Stehen is currently an associate at Carbon Limited Technologies Ltd, where he advises on investments to commercialise innovative new technologies in the green energy field.

Advisory Panel

  • Peter Jones OBE

    Advisory Panel Member

    Peter Jones worked as a director for the waste management company Biffa until 2008 when he set up his own consultancy company, Ecolateral. Today he is a guiding force within the Public and Private sector offering strategic direction on the “turn waste into resource” transition.

  • Niels Fabricius

    Advisory Panel Member

    Niels Fabricius has an impressive CV, with an illustrious career in the hydro-carbon industry. His work as a senior executive at Shell Gas and Power provided Niels with in-depth knowledge and experience of the refinery and petro-chemical markets. He joins Recycling Technologies as an advisor to the board.

  • Professor Jonathan Seville

    Advisory Panel Member

    Professor Jonathan Seville is President of the IChemE and was Executive Dean of the Faculty of Engineering and Physical Sciences at the University of Surrey. Jonathan is a Chartered Engineer, a Fellow of the Institution of Chemical Engineers and a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering.

  • David Wedlock

    Advisory Panel Member

    David Wedlock is Principal Consultant at DW Associates Base Oil and Lubes and an ex-Shell Executive. David is a global expert on base oils technology. His knowledge brings strategic direction for the production of Plaxx as waxes.

  • Arthur op den Brouw

    Advisory Panel Member

    Arthur brings a wealth of brand development, marketing strategy and communication experience to the team. With strong traditional and new media experience, Arthur oversees the development of the company's corporate profile.

  • Professor Rex Thorpe

    Advisory Panel Member

    Head of Chemical and Process Engineering at Surrey University. A leading expert in the field of fluidised bed reactors and combustors Focus: Supporting Recycling Technologies around FBMR optimisation.

  • Farid Dailami

    Advisory Panel Member

    Senior Lecturer at School of Engineering, Design and Mathematics at the University of the West of England. Farid is a specialist in the design of medium speed diesels. Focus: Support around the qualification of Plaxx as a fuel in diesel engines.

  • Derek Munro

    Advisory Panel Member

    Environmental Integrated Solutions Ltd (EIS Ltd), Derek is a chartered chemical engineer, designing systems internationally for VOC Abatement and Air Pollution Control problems. Focus: Peer review of RT’s industrial chemical design and the HAZOP process.

Technology partners





  • ABB
  • Flexitallic
  • Chartertech
  • Glosfume
  • Ajax
  • EIS
  • Dunphy
  • Rotajet


  • Amec Foster Wheeler
  • Ricardo
  • Parsons Brinckerhoff
  • Marine South East
  • Lloyds Register


  • University of Birmingham
  • University of Surrey
  • University of Warwick
  • University of the West of England
  • Cranfield University