The board


Portrait of Gary Bullard

Gary Bullard

Executive Chairman
Gary has held a number of senior roles in corporates such as IBM and BT. Until 2012 he was President at Logica UK and a member of the Executive Committee of Logica plc. He has considerable AIM & Main Market experience, serving on the Boards of companies such as Chloride Group plc., Rotork plc., Spirent Communications plc. and Gooch & Housego plc where he is also the current chairman. Gary is currently non-executive chairman of AFC Energy plc.
Portrait of Stephen Pascoe

Stephen Pascoe

Chief Financial Officer
Stephen is a senior finance professional and Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants. He spent over 20 years at PWC where he worked with a wide range of organisations, including private businesses and large multinational and listed companies. Whilst at PWC, his clients included Ocado, Corus, Rexam, Avis, De La Rue, Ashtead, Honeywell and Three UK. He has supported clients through a wide range of business and accounting issues including UK listing, external funding, restructuring, acquisitions and accounting framework changes.


Portrait of Laurence Hollingworth

Laurence Hollingworth

Senior Independent Director
Laurence spent nearly 40 years in the City with Cazenove and then J.P. Morgan. He retired from J.P. Morgan in November 2017 having held various senior roles, latterly as Vice Chairman. His experience in Corporate Finance covered Equity Capital Markets as well as advising on a variety of M&A situations. Currently an independent director at Clarkson PLC.
Portrait of Nicola Frayne

Nicola Frayne

Independent Non-executive Director
Nicola brings a wealth of experience to the board, especially as an HR professional. Nicola previously served as Group HR Director of Unite Plc, a FTSE250 company, where she was a member of the senior management team during a rapid expansion of the business.
Portrait of Stephen Hodges

Stephen Hodges

Independent Non-executive Director
Stephen has vast experience in the waste industry, including 15 years at Viridor as Director of Engineering. Stephen is currently an associate at Carbon Limited Technologies, where he advises on the commercialisation of innovative new technologies in the clean energy field. He also provides expert waste project consultancy services.
Portrait of Paul Turner

Paul Turner

Independent Non-executive Director
Paul is an experienced senior executive in the petrochemical industry and has worked with some of the largest chemical companies in the world including LyondellBasell, Borealis and The Dow Chemical Company. Prior to these roles, Paul was vice president of global business operations at Borealis, where he was responsible for transforming the global business engineering applications unit.
Portrait of Joonas Helenius

Joonas Helenius

Non-executive Director
Joonas is nominated by Neste and brings a mix of financial and industrial views to the Board. He has a decade of experience from the investment banking advisory and corporate development roles at Neste and previous employers on an international basis. Lately he has focused on corporate venturing activities.
Portrait of Simon Dent


Non-executive Director
Simon Dent is nominated by Mirova and is the founder and investment lead of the Mirova Sustainable Ocean Fund. He has more than 20 years of transactional and senior management experience in commodity trading and sustainable finance. He is a recognised leader in the blue economy space where he is focused on developing and funding investable business models that provide clear impact gains for ocean ecosystems as well as creating meaningful economic returns for ocean stakeholders and investors.
Portrait of Alice Cummings

alice cummings

Independent Non-executive Director
Alice has several years of relevant financial and commercial experience in regulated industries. She is an Independent Non-executive Director and Chair of the Audit Committee at AIM listed Idox plc, South Staffordshire Water plc and Cottsway Housing Association. She was previously Group CFO at the InHealth Group, the UK’s largest specialist provider of diagnostic procedures and Group CFO at the AEA Group, a main listed environmental and energy efficiency technical consultancy. She is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales.

Key Advisors

Commercial Advisory Panel

Sir John Grant

Chris McNally


Adrian (Rupert) Haworth


Simon Eaton


Technical Advisory Panel

Neils Fabricius


Prof. Gary Leeke


Prof. Rex Thorpe


Prof. Jonathan Seville


Dr. Bob Jones